Hats and Sleep

I’m going to get a quick post in before I get to bed.

I started knitting a hat a few weeks ago. I finally finished it and when I put it on my head, I noticed that it was way too small. It was the right size for a child, certainly not an adult with even an average size head. Now, I don’t do well frogging back and restarting in the middle of a project, so I faced the inevitable. I had to rip it all out and start over. And that’s what I did. This time around, it hasn’t taken me as long as before. It took me about two weeks last time, and I’m almost done after about a week. I plan on finishing either tomorrow or Wednesday. It’s a really cute pattern and I’ve had it on my list since about mid fall, possibly before, so I’m really excited to get it done. Once I get it finished, I’ll post some pics.

Of course, I won’t be able to wear the hat until I get the scarf finished. Since the hat did not have a matching scarf, I had to search for something that didn’t have a pattern that stands out. Mainly because I don’t like it when hats and scarves don’t match. I am somewhat obsessive about things being and looking the same. I would have tried to convert the pattern from the hat into a scarf, but the hat is knit in the round in a lacy pattern, and I’m not sure the yarn overs and the k2togs would look the same on purl sides. I could have knit it in the round like the scarf I’m knitting to go with the hat, but the pattern is kind of time consuming, and I don’t think I would have enough beads. So, I’ll just keep going with what I have and hope no one notices the two different patterns.

Well, I must be going to bed. It’s past my bedtime, and I’m not going to get my 8 hours in before work tomorrow. The one bad thing about having a grown up job is that it starts at 8am every morning. This means I have to wake up before 6am in order to have time to get ready. So if I want to get 8 hours, I have to be asleep before 10, which sucks when friends want to go out during the week. I just get used to the fact that some days I’ll be really tired, or I will have to decline socializing. Oh well…

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

